What I Didn’t Say

Chatting casually, standing
fixed in an ocean of motion.
Yes, yes, I’ve been swell,
things are great

The whole conversation stifling
the real words
I’ve missed you.
Words which would be inappropriate,
given the circumstances:
the campus, the degrees,
the marriage, the children.
The facade I wish we could drop
but we only smile at each other,
wave goodbye.
Leaving me to stumble away
and shake the adrenaline out of my legs,
swallow the butterflies
cresting my tongue,
and knock the desire out of my trembling hands.

4 thoughts on “What I Didn’t Say

Leave a Reply

