Birthday Backpack to Hannegan Pass

P1030114

I try to make it a tradition to backpack on my birthday, to connect with the earth and sky and air and wildlife. We had a lovely campsite up near Hannegan Pass, despite the smoke from the Upper Skagit Complex fires in the North Cascades.

It was incredibly smoky the night we hiked in, but by morning the sky had cleared enough to reveal a lovely view of Ruth Mountain.

P1030136

P1030135

“I am glad I will not be young in a future without wilderness.” -Aldo Leopold

P1030139

Down in this basin we saw a black bear snacking on mountain ash berries
and lumbering across fallen logs, living without a care.

P1030133

This is truly my favorite way to celebrate another year of my life and recognize the inevitable passage of time. Backpacking teaches me about necessity and what really matters. It helps me rediscover the importance and powerful enormity of nature.

We must learn to embrace this and accept that we cannot escape nature’s life cycles.

4 thoughts on “Birthday Backpack to Hannegan Pass

Leave a Reply

