I Would Write Us a Poem

If I could possibly string together
adjectives of our belonging, bead up my
growing sorrows on a thread of doubt, I would.
I would knit a scarf, cities long, and
stitch our happiest memories into its
winter warmth; a blend of pine trees
and tea, laughter, soft smoke, kisses in
the wool. If I could plant a garden
for my love now waning, I would tuck seeds
of gratitude into our damp chestnut soil.
One day they might sprout, bloom
into radiant red bursts of friendship
and shoot peaceful vines towards the sun.

5 thoughts on “I Would Write Us a Poem

  1. Pingback: I Would Write Us a Poem | SarahWriteNow

Leave a Reply

