(un)bind me

Look: this
is what you’ve done to me.
These are my jumbled limbs
and gnarled words, trapped
in my dry throat.
this is my mental & physical
incapacitation. you freeze me.

Look, this is not
what I want. let me go.
i need to heal alone,
in a room bursting with light.
Let me feel warmth on my face.

Unbind my bones from
the chair. i’ve already
spilled onto the floor.
I ask you, please release me,
while I can still walk away.

You stole my appetite: for sun,
for love. an appetite for
feeling my heart beating.
I have hollowed myself out.
let me go, or the rest of me
may trail down
the bathtub drain.

Leave a Reply

