Now that you’re gone

There is life before death that no one sees except you.
You alone know every waking minute thinking, wanting, waiting.
Walking by the quiet waters.

I have never needed God much until I saw Death.
You knew God when you met Death, and this was your comfort.

I do not know if God is there.
I believe nature protects me, and will claim me when it is ready.
Suck me under the mossy earth.

I listen to your music now that you’re gone.
We read your journals and trace your words with heavy fingertips.
You wrote about love.

Leave a Reply

