Write Don’t Think

Write– don’t think, they said

so I stripped

off a layer of myself, stepped out

of the tired costume and wrote away

the scars down her thighs, wrote off

a stomach stuffed with emotion

as boredom but I know it’s deeper,

the demons live further down.

 

I asked for a sickness to keep life

entertaining. It came in the form of

a double-edged sword

to twist in my side.

I asked for an addiction to keep

my demons at bay but God laughed

said It doesn’t work that way.

 

Friends ask what I write– I smile

not saying I haven’t written in 6 months

not saying I write about the blood on my hands

 

I say poetry fiction short stories memoirs

you know

Leave a Reply

