If You Want to Be My Friend

Image

Here’s a short poem for you, if you want to be my friend.

I’ll say it now (but just one time), and hope you understand.

 

At first I may be quiet, shy, or uncertain how to act.

Please know I am just nervous, a bit insecure, in fact.

But once I leave my shell, we’ll discover who the other is.

With people who are close to me, I’m much more talkative.

 

Now, friendship is a push and pull, always a give and take.

If we cannot find a balance, our bond will be at stake.

I can’t spend all my energy on someone who doesn’t see:

Friendships best endure when built on reciprocity.

 

I fiercely love my friends, and keep them by my side.

The make me proud and make me laugh; they keep me honest and alive.

We could be partners in crime, or mellow classroom pals.

We’d dance and drink, read and think, stay up as late as night allows.

 

So this is my poem for you, if you want to be my friend.

All you need to do is smile, say hi; extend your hand.

13 thoughts on “If You Want to Be My Friend

  1. Oh Kari, this is just beautiful! I am saying Hi, smiling, extending my hand, virtually hugging you and sending Love! πŸ’ž

Leave a Reply

